Large Scale Central

The Blood Moon Eclipse, Please share your photos

OK so astronomy is another passing hobby, so I couldn’t resist taking pictures of this beautiful event. Wish I had a bigger lens. But these were taken with a 300mm running a range of settings. Most were ISO 400-800, Exposure of 1" to 5", and all were taken with an f stop of 5.6 the widest my aperture will go.

Being on the west coast gave us an opportunity to begin viewing this while we still had a little sunlight. Then it got pitch black by the time it was coming out so I was able to get some different shots. I am no profession but I think I did alright given that I only had 300mm to work with. Wish I had a 1200mm telephoto.

I was shooting it trying to get an airplane passing in front. I got a few around it, but none right in front.

I find that the moon is actually very bright and I was shooting in manual at F8-11, 160-200th sec, ISO 100 on the Nikon 750 with a Nikkor 300 mm.

Todd Brody said:

I was shooting it trying to get an airplane passing in front. I got a few around it, but none right in front.

I find that the moon is actually very bright and I was shooting in manual at F8-11, 160-200th sec, ISO 100 on the Nikon 750 with a Nikkor 300 mm.

Can’t wait to see what you came up with

There was one cloud in the sky, not thick enough to obscure, but not a clear shot either…

I like yours.

John

down here, the blood-moon was bloody big, bloody dark, but not bloody red.

Use the same setting to shoot the moon that you would use for daylight, here on Terra. Think about that for awhile… Like Todd said, its very bright. ISO 100, use f 16 @ 125