Large Scale Central

LGB cars with 1:20.3 locos?

I’m looking at getting another engine. Since I doubt LGB will ever make another American Steam model, I have been looking at other brands. Most of the ones I like are 1:20.3 scale. But I have no experience with other brands.

I do not need to buy any more cars right now. How do the LGB cars look coupled with the 1:20.3 engines such as Bachmann’s C-19?

I run only LGB engines, at this time I have two LGB Moguls, two LGB Alco’s, and two #50 diesel switchers, all are repainted to my RR the Ft. Worth & South-Western. I only run LGB and USA Trains rolling stock, all are the 30ft. length, except for the LGB passenger cars which are longer, I would call these narrow gauge cars. So my scale is pretty much 1:22.5 and I don’t purchase anything other then that scale, many railroaders mix scales, but for me I don’t. I find the 1:20.3 just a little oversize for the LGB scale and the USA Trains at 1/29 scale to be a little under scale for my liking. I will say here that I’m a modeler first and a trains runner second, so you can see why I don’t mix scales. I look at the LGB scale as pretty much a dead scale and don’t expect to see anything produced in that scale again, I have the only American engines that LGB produced and all I can do is purchase one of the three and re-due it to my liking and that’s what I have been doing. As far as how one scale looks to another scale I would watch some YouTube videos and you can see these engines and cars and decide for yourself.

trainman

Derailed,

I think the answer will be: “It Depends.” Below please find a picture from April B’mann’s allegedly 1:20.3 scale 2-4-2 pulling an LGB coach and lowside gondola and a PIKO caboose:

I think it looks OK, but maybe I can’t see the flaws through the cargo. The short movie shows the same loco pulling LGB, Delton, and PIKO:

Video: B’mann 1:20.3 2-4-2 Pulling a Whole Bunch of Gummi-scale Stuff