Large Scale Central

Resistor help needed

I am not good with electronics so I hope to get a answer here . What resistor do I need to drop a 12 volt power supply to 3 volts to power some LED’s ? Thanks in advance .

Mike… “MY PERSONAL PREFERENCE”… when powering LED’s is a 480ohm resistor…which reminds me I’m out of them and Ric Golding owes me a batch !

Bingo !!! 480 ohm it is . Thanks Mr. Rooster

NO NO NO, the resistor is dependent on the 9 volt drop AND the current. for 20 ma leds 480 is ok for 1 20ma LED. BUT for 10ma leds the value is double that!!!

When someone needs resistor values, led currents and dropping voltages are needed for accurate information.

A better way to figure out a resistor value is:

For a 10ma led, multiply the droping voltage times 100 ohms, in this case 9 times 100 (900) and the closest resistor is 910 ohms.

For a 20 ma led multiply the dropping voltage times 50 ohms which gives 450 and closest resistor is 480 ohms. Always size the resistor at the next highest value.

These numbers are for single leds, or for leds in series. Do not assume that only one 20ma led is being used without getting further info from the original post.

Identical leds in parallel can be done, and resistor sizes wil be smaller, however this is not a good thing to do.

I have placed a pair of 10ma leds in parallel for dual headlights and used a CL2N2 for the 20 ma current with great success, no resistor needed.

When I installed LED lighting in my 6 Bachmann J&S coaches I used 5 LEDs per car in parallel and 1 480 ohm resistor. They have been working just fine since 2012 with analog DC of o-24 volts!

You could use a led resistor calculator. There are lots of them that will show up with a search. Here is one. https://ledcalculator.net/ You can always add more resistance if the led is too bright. Be very cautious about about using less, it could cause smoke.