Large Scale Central

Articulating Bachmann & USAT Arch Bar Trucks

https://www.largescalecentral.com/articles/189/articulating-bachmann-usat-arch-bar-trucks

Bob Cope said:

https://www.largescalecentral.com/articles/189/articulating-bachmann-usat-arch-bar-trucks

Bob, while I am 100% a supporter of articulation/suspension/equalisation, I have to say that the Bachmann trucks always seem to be made of fairly soft plastic that allows the axles to tilt or rise independently, thus providing articulation. The weight of the car is a factor, of course.

I have no experience with the USAT ones.

I re-work all my trucks to roll better and have good articulation, mainly LGB and USA Trains trucks, so far they do well on the rails when running. I do paint all my trucks to some degree on weathering, rusting, etc. and all my wheels are painted in rust color and well as my couplers are now all getting painted and have that rusty look, you do know that all railroad wheels and couplers are rusted and not painted. I will say that a flat rusty color on the couplers does make them look smaller in size as the tend to blend in more, just the way I see it. I use Rust-Oleum red primer from Home Depot, the color is right on for rust, them I brush on a coat of Isopropyl Rubbing Alcohol with a small drop of shoe dye in it, either black or brown, you decide which way you want it to look. This rubbing alcohol thing is use by model railroader for a weathering look, it’s mainly used for a weathering look on wood, does work on painted plastic also.

trainman