Large Scale Central

What am I doing Wrong?

I am new to live steam and am trying to learn the best way to run my radio controlled Ruby. It has been doing pretty well as my skills increase but one thing has me bugged. As it’s running, I get a lot of popping in the smoke box. So much so that it regularly blows out the fire. What is the problem? If you listen to it in this video it will be apparent. Help is appreciated. Thanks

Hmmm, could be lots of things, Joe, so look at these posts - https://gardenrails.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=11947

My first thought is a cruddy gas jet, or perhaps carp actually IN the gas you are using. Do you invert the can before filling up? Are you using a mix or straight butane?

Let us know if the gas jet might be blocked - cleaning them is NOT something that you can do properly unless you know how, in any event, do NOT use anything mechanical to try and do it.

My first thought is a cruddy gas jet, or perhaps carp actually IN the gas you are using. Do you invert the can before filling up? Are you using a mix or straight butane?

Tac, it’s not the gas. Rubys are renowned for burning oil and water in the smokebox, thus making the “POP” and the puff of blue oil smoke which you can see on the video.

With a ‘chuffer’ in the smokebox, it is possible the wider chuffer is restricting the airflow and making the fire go out. For some reason these locos need airflow through the smokebox - my FWRR won’t stay lit unless you leave the smokebox door open.

o. right.

In that case - https://www.thetraindepartment.com/accucraft-parts-upgrades/accucraft-replacement-td-burners/?fbclid=IwAR0lixH5Tuus9T6RBEwaH0Wb5uxbWdaHqKLv3lh0S6Zfa-8v4k6WvJqYF7A

Maybe it doesn’t like your nick name Sparky(https://www.largescalecentral.com/externals/tinymce/plugins/emoticons/img/smiley-tongue-out.gif)

Are you refilling the oiler before each run?