Large Scale Central

Painting Wooden Sidewalks

I’ve been scribing (sp?) some lines in a pvc foam board base for my train station. When I’m done I want it to look like wooden planks. I’m not an artist so am wondering if some of you have any suggestions how to make it look like wooden planks. Should I paint the grain or scribe it into the board? If I scribe what is a good tool. The width of my lines are approx 1/4" wide. Also what color paints are best for a nice looking wood grain?

Thanks,

Richard

I usually lay down flat black first, and then with a fan brush use some burnt umber and /or grey, depending on whether I want the wood to look worn or newer(ish), with watercolor or acrylics, then seal it with a flat clear or dullcoat.

Important to remember when using the fan brush, when you dab it in the paint, to swish it on a napkin to knock off some paint. You want to get the darker colors in the grooves that you’ve scribed, and let the fan brush highlight the high spots on the planks.

Thanks for the technique Mike…I really appreciate it.

Richard

scribe it with either a sawblade for cutting iron, or a stiff wirebrush.

painting depends if you are going oil based, or acrylics.

oil:

use silver-grey for old wood, ocre-beige for newer wood.

to darken the grooves, use very thin mix of liquid shoe-shine with alcohol. paint wet and immediatly after that wish away with cloth.

as people tend to go in the middle of a given space, so a very light wash with some “dirt”, more pronounced in the middle, than on the sides.

acrylics.

start with solid black or (very) dark brown. drybrush with lighter colours till you are content.

Richard,