Large Scale Central

Future of G scale ?

Hi everyone,

I’m new to G scale and really having a blast with it. I do have a couple of questions. It seems like the loss of aristo craft has left a void in the scale. Does anyone know what happened to all the molds and tooling? Do you think someone might restart the line. I read that a son or partner tried to carry on with a different name but seem to have disappeared. I’ve also noticed a large gap in catalog release years for example MTH seems to be every 2 years but I heard there might be a 2018 as aristo craft is gone.I wonder if USA and MTH will up the production. Still can’t believe I cant buy a SP F7 or an SF F7. Really hope they plan on some reruns. I understand USA will be rerunning the SD40-2 next year but hope they will do either F3,F7, or PA. Need any of those to pull a passenger set. Any insight would be helpful.

Thanks

Welcome David.

Bachmann/Kader own all the AristoCraft moulds.

Before considering re-releasing old AristoCraft stuff all the engineering mistakes and general stuff ups that were a feature of just about every AC model, would need to be fixed.

Don’t hold your breath on that happening. However, assuming they were re-released, I would be checking carefully they have been “fixed” before spending any money.

Aristo craft history on this page: https://elmassian.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=625&Itemid=801

Kader owns the molds, always has.

Go on the used market.

Dave, you need to drop by sometime and visit, so you can see some of this stuff in the flesh.

Greg