• Topic: Real Diodes

Back To Topics
    (0 rates)
    • January 22, 2020 5:50 PM EST
      • Phila., Pa.

• Thanks

Real Diodes

Good afternoon everyone :

I'm hoping I can get some wiring help. I want to install motor units on my piko switches . I made my own control panel with momentary toggle switches to control them. I found wiring diagrams that help me but I keep seeing references to "real diodes " . Can someone tell me what size I need and how to install them . I have a USA TRAINS train power 10 and I don't know if that makes a difference. Also, where I can get them. I'm new to the hobby and you guy's have already helped me twice and I'm hoping you will do it again. Another diagram would be really helpful too.

Thank's

Bob      

This post was edited by srmoment at January 22, 2020 5:53 PM EST
    • January 22, 2020 6:43 PM EST
      • Vail, Az

• Thanks

Real as opposed to light emitting, I suppose. They control direction of DC electrons. We used to point to radio shack, but now a daze it's electronic supply.

I've bought from these people;

https://www.mpja.com/search_results.asp?q=diode

This post was edited by John Caughey at January 23, 2020 12:07 AM EST

John

The older I get, the less I know, please don't make me prove it.

• January 23, 2020 4:54 PM EST

•  
      • Thanks

The 1N4xxx series will be fine, not signal diodes or zeners.

Pick the amperage you need, I would guess 1 amp would be enough, but maybe buy the 3 amp ones just to be sure.

Greg

Be sure­ to visit ­my site, l­ots of tec­hnical tip­s and modi­fications,­ and you c­an search ­for topics­ and key w­ords.

­Click HERE for Greg­'s web sit­e
      PLEASE NOT­E: Please do NOT use private messaging, i­f you have­ a questio­n, feel fr­ee to emai­l me priva­tely, u­se regular­ email onl­y: greg@el­massian.co­m

• January 23, 2020 5:59 PM EST
      • Phila., Pa.

• Thanks

Thank's Greg , I knew I could count on you guy's. I hope I learn enough to be able to help someone out too.