Forums General Problem Solving
  • Topic: ESU SMOKE UNIT PROGRAMING

    Back To Topics
    (0 rates)
    • September 7, 2017 7:31 AM EDT
      • oceansiode, Ca
         
      • Posts
        2
      • Thanks
        0
      • Thanked
        0
      • Reputation
        Neutral

      ESU SMOKE UNIT PROGRAMING

      Does anybody know how to program a ESU smoke unit 54679.  I have a ESU programmer and I've been trying to load it into my ESU Loksound V4.0 sound card.  I've been trying for 3 weeks?

    • September 7, 2017 12:14 PM EDT

      •  
      • Posts
        5,831
      • Thanks
        71
      • Thanked
        225
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      So, I'm having a little trouble decoding your sentence.

       

      Just to be sure I understand, you are not actually trying to load the smoke unit into your sound card, you are trying to hook it up, right?

       

      So, start with basics,

      1. Is your sound card operating properly?

      2. is this steam or diesel?

      3. if steam is it "chuffing" properly?

      4. do you have the manual for the 54679?

      5. do you have the cable and is it connected as per pages 5 & 6 of the manual?

       

      Let's start with these basics.

       

      Greg

      ____________________________________

      Be sure­ to visit ­my site, l­ots of tec­hnical tip­s and modi­fications,­ and you c­an search ­for topics­ and key w­ords.


      ­Click HERE for Greg­'s web sit­e
      PLEASE NOT­E: Please do NOT use private messaging, i­f you have­ a questio­n, feel fr­ee to emai­l me priva­tely, u­se regular­ email onl­y: greg@el­massian.co­m

    • September 9, 2017 4:38 PM EDT
      • oceansiode, Ca
         
      • Posts
        2
      • Thanks
        0
      • Thanked
        0
      • Reputation
        Neutral

      Yes to all.  wired properly and I do have the instructions.  It is steam.  When I go with the basic unit sound card and no smoke unit everything works fine.  When I attempt to program the unit and write the smoke unit into the program the locomotive becomes sluggish goes and then stops.

    • September 9, 2017 7:15 PM EDT

      •  
      • Posts
        5,831
      • Thanks
        71
      • Thanked
        225
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      OK, so your terminology is still a bit strange. you say "program the unit"... are you programming the main decoder or the smoke unit.

      You say "write the smoke unit into the program" makes absolutely no sense to me... there is no program you are modifying, all you can do is change CV's

       

      Please list EXACTLY the CV's you are changing.. I will have to look a bit further, but I think you can set CV's in the smoke unit too.. if this is true, how have you isolated these from each other, do you have different addresses for them?

       

      Also are you programming on the main or in service mode (programming track)?

       

      Greg

       

      p.s. Steve, you are probably about 7 miles from me, I'm in Carlsbad.... drop me an email and we can exchange phone numbers and talk if you want

      This post was edited by Greg Elmassian at September 9, 2017 7:21 PM EDT
      ____________________________________

      Be sure­ to visit ­my site, l­ots of tec­hnical tip­s and modi­fications,­ and you c­an search ­for topics­ and key w­ords.


      ­Click HERE for Greg­'s web sit­e
      PLEASE NOT­E: Please do NOT use private messaging, i­f you have­ a questio­n, feel fr­ee to emai­l me priva­tely, u­se regular­ email onl­y: greg@el­massian.co­m

    • September 10, 2017 12:12 AM EDT
      • Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
         
      • Posts
        8,642
      • Thanks
        40
      • Thanked
        355
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      When I attempt to program the unit and write the smoke unit into the program the locomotive becomes sluggish goes and then stops.

      Sounds like the smoke unit is drawing enough current to either overload the power supply, or overload the decoder.

      ____________________________________

      Shannon car Shops
      Home of the infamous leg lamp

      I.A.R.R.R. Member #12

      and King Butt Modeler

    • September 10, 2017 6:33 PM EDT

      •  
      • Posts
        5,831
      • Thanks
        71
      • Thanked
        225
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      I doubt it, first of all the smoke unit does not draw power from the decoder, it communicates via SUSI (if it is connected correctly)

       

      Second, they don't really draw that much, and from the description it does not sound not like the power going out.. you are thinking DCC not DC right?

       

      Greg

      ____________________________________

      Be sure­ to visit ­my site, l­ots of tec­hnical tip­s and modi­fications,­ and you c­an search ­for topics­ and key w­ords.


      ­Click HERE for Greg­'s web sit­e
      PLEASE NOT­E: Please do NOT use private messaging, i­f you have­ a questio­n, feel fr­ee to emai­l me priva­tely, u­se regular­ email onl­y: greg@el­massian.co­m

    • September 10, 2017 6:57 PM EDT
      • Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
         
      • Posts
        8,642
      • Thanks
        40
      • Thanked
        355
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      Well, I was thinking of power. With the smoke unit on the locomotive runs slow then stops. Without the smoke unit on the locomotive runs fine. That suggests an excessive current draw to me. I don't know that DCC would act any different if there was excessive current draw. I am only casually acquainted with DCC. I am no where near as familiar with DCC as I am with DC.

      ____________________________________

      Shannon car Shops
      Home of the infamous leg lamp

      I.A.R.R.R. Member #12

      and King Butt Modeler

    • September 11, 2017 1:45 PM EDT

      •  
      • Posts
        5,831
      • Thanks
        71
      • Thanked
        225
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      So, we'll let the OP reply on the amperage of his system.

       

      It's unlikely that he has less than 5 amps available. Unlike DC, there are few large scale DCC systems at one amp.

       

      DCC acts differently, and again you need to consider the amperage draw of the smoke unit, which in this case is much less than the DC smoke units you are familiar with.

       

      Anyway, we'll wait on the OP to check this off, and I will wait patiently to hear the answers to my debugging questions. I suspect there's some misunderstanding in the programming.

       

      Greg

      ____________________________________

      Be sure­ to visit ­my site, l­ots of tec­hnical tip­s and modi­fications,­ and you c­an search ­for topics­ and key w­ords.


      ­Click HERE for Greg­'s web sit­e
      PLEASE NOT­E: Please do NOT use private messaging, i­f you have­ a questio­n, feel fr­ee to emai­l me priva­tely, u­se regular­ email onl­y: greg@el­massian.co­m

    • September 12, 2017 8:19 AM EDT
      • Eastern Massachusetts
         
      • Posts
        827
      • Thanks
        3
      • Thanked
        30
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      Is the smoke unit and the sound unit on SUSI bus with CV's in the 900's so if you change the smoke unit values are the sound unit values being changed also?

      This should not have affected  the running of the engine so I would first question the power source, command station spec and power supply spec.

    • September 12, 2017 1:04 PM EDT

      •  
      • Posts
        5,831
      • Thanks
        71
      • Thanked
        225
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      Something is indeed strange. But what does not make sense is that programming the smoke unit should make it draw a lot more current, unless this is a situation where it's either not doing anything at all or running at an amp or more continuously.

      My understanding is that the smoke unit draws under an amp.

       

      Something still does not make sense...

       

      Greg

      ____________________________________

      Be sure­ to visit ­my site, l­ots of tec­hnical tip­s and modi­fications,­ and you c­an search ­for topics­ and key w­ords.


      ­Click HERE for Greg­'s web sit­e
      PLEASE NOT­E: Please do NOT use private messaging, i­f you have­ a questio­n, feel fr­ee to emai­l me priva­tely, u­se regular­ email onl­y: greg@el­massian.co­m

Forums General Problem Solving

    Icon Legend

  • Topic has replies
    Hot topic
    Topic unread
    Topic doesn't have any replies
    Closed topic
    BBCode  is enabled
    HTML  is enabled

Add Reputation

Do you want to add reputation for this user by this post?

or cancel

Ads by Google