Large Scale Central

USA Trains Modern Tank Cars & Body Mounting Kadee Couplers

Example Methods for Body Mounting Kadee Couplers on USA Trains Modern Tank Cars

Hello All,

First off, this is my first use of the LSC Forum as a new member.
I have been participating in MLS for several years and would now like to try LSC.

Now for my first Post, I wish to share what I have done with body mounting Kadees on the USA Trains “Modern Tank Cars” - the ones made from extruded aluminum. (I know these cars have been around for several years, so this may be seem old to many folks.)

At this time most of my trains have all body mount Kadee “G” scale couplers, nearly all of them being centersets (no vertical offsets). With several hundred items, I still have a few more to complete. With body mount couplers, I strive for train operation on 8 foot diameter track so as to assure operation on 10 foot diameter tack curves, including Aristo’s Wide Radius Turnouts.

A few years ago (I think late 2011), Nick Savatgy sold me several USA Trains 55 foot modern tank cars in new condition that he did not need. Nick retained the Kadees he had on them, so at that time I took a quick approach to body mounting the straight shank Kadee 830 centerset couplers. Sometime later I got one new 42 foot car and one new 29 foot car, so this resulted in a rethink as to using the newer version Kadee G scale “E” type couplers with different methods for body mounting them.

Accordingly, I would like to share some examples for body mounting Kadee 906 or 907 couplers on those cars for operation down to 8 foot diameter track curves.

The USA Trains modern tank cars are made in 3 size lengths. The cars are excellent albeit relatively heavy being made of extruded aluminum.
The 3 USAT Modern Tank Cars

For the 42 foot car, it is body mounted using the Kadee 906 wide box type.
I mounted the Kadee 906 box using its inline holes, removed the side “ears” and filed wheel pockets on the box sides.
USAT 42 foot Tank Car