Large Scale Central

Automated Train Display questions

I am going to open a can of worms in this post.

First off this is something that I have some knowledge on and have done extensive research for over 15 years, but almost have given up recently on it really happening.

My existing railroad is a fallen flag now. And now want to put the railroad in that I have always wanted to do outside.

I have the design and it is not easy to find the computer control system that will make it operate.

My first system used was back in 1994 and discovered at a NMRA convention in Portland Oregon I believe. This system was called Railistic, but was only for DC trains. It had everything needed to run multiple trains and keep them from crashing into each other, love this system, but was not promoted well by the inventor and little or no support. Finally sold to a user who only wanted the documentation for his personal use. So the system died.

It had on each board 8 blocks and 8 control output, more boards could be Daisey chained for more blocks and control circuits, uses current sensing for the train detection, it could run trains bidirectional, collision avoidance, operate your turnout, block signals, crossing lights, etc. I very easy basic type language to be able to program each train what you wanted it to do. Extremely easy to wire up, run your block wiring to the 8 outputs and your other devices to the 8 control outputs and you tell the software what each dose in simple form.

I have looked and looked at what software and hardware is out there that I could use to replace this system and absolutely nothing has come close.

Many websites have for years promised all this future hardware and software and it turns out to be vaporware.

The layout I am using the Railistic system is in ‘N’ Scale right now with my design but want to now do a garden railroad size.